Government adopts sanctions

Bookmark and Share

The Norwegian government, with backing from opposition parties in Parliament, has formally adopted the sanctions imposed against Russia by the US and the EU. The sanctions come in response to Russia’s military intervention in Ukraine, and not least its annexation of Crimea.

The decision was approved at the weekly Council of State at the Royal Palace on Friday and the sanctions take effect immediately.

“Russia has not shown a willingness to contribute to a ceasefire (between Russian separatists in eastern Ukraine and the Ukrainian government) but, on the contrary, has been part of escalating the conflict through its active support of pro-Russian agitators,” Foreign Minister Børge Brende said on Friday. “The situation in eastern Ukraine gets worse by the day.”

He said it was important for the international community “to stand together in reaction to Russia’s actions.” Russia also has imposed sanctions against the EU, the US, Canada, Australia and Norway, which includes a boycott of Norwegian seafood. staff